Google Cardboard vs. Gear VR


Viewable in 2D, 3D and 360° Virtual Reality.

In this 360° 3D virtual reality YouTube video, I show and talk about why I prefer to use Gear VR with my Samsung Galaxy S4 phone, rather than Google Cardboard. Being able to adjust the focus is extremely important!
This 3D video was recorded with a Sony TD30 3D camcorder, then converted to a 360° spherical stereo 60fps UHD video. I used about 1/5th to 1/6th of the typical amount of net deviation (stereoscopic depth) that I usually use in my 3D YouTube videos. This is based on close to a 65 degree hFOV through Gear VR and Google Cardboard (360/65 = 5.5).

Leave a Reply

