You Have To Look Around In Here (UHD)


Viewable in 2D, 3D and 360° Virtual Reality.

[This is the 3840×2160 UHD version for comparison, and the UHD YouTube option still hasn’t processed, and I’m not waiting hours for that, either! 😦
Since it took almost 9 hours to render this short presentation, I’m tempted to stick with HD for my silly 360 degree fun and games, but I’m going to take a very close look at this comparison, first, if and when it processes… and BTW, I see some compression artifacts during the fade in and fade out, so this really needs a higher bitrate, which will increase the number of hours of rendering time even more! 😦 ]

Sometimes these 360° 3D virtual reality YouTube videos open up on your phone showing the intended opening view, and sometimes they don’t. Don’t ask me why. I guess it’s a gyro thing. :/
So, obviously you have to get used to looking around, and it also helps if there’s something to see when you are looking around. You got it, baby—paper dolls in a circle, holding hands. 🙂
This is also a 60fps test, to check for annoying strobing effects when you rotate the view, which I have noticed with my 30fps 360° 3D VR videos.
This is the 3840×2160 UHD version. I want to check the quality with Google Cardboard and Gear VR with a Samsung Galaxy S4 and a Note 5.
The composited (picture-in-picture) 3D video in this scene was recorded with a Sony TD30, and rendered in 60pfps, using Sony Movie Studio Platinum 13, as well as the final VR scene.
I used Blender to create the paper dolls and black video frame.

Leave a Reply

